Delaware News

What are the healthcare facilities in Delaware?

Exploring Delaware’s Healthcare Landscape: A Closer Look at Facilities and Services

Delaware may be one of the smallest states in the United States, but its healthcare facilities are robust and diverse, offering residents a range of services from primary care to specialized treatments. The state’s healthcare system is anchored by several major hospitals and a network of clinics that provide accessible care to its population.

Key Players in Delaware’s Healthcare Provision

The ChristianaCare Health System, with its flagship hospital Christiana Hospital in Newark, is the largest provider of healthcare services in Delaware. It offers comprehensive services including a Level I trauma center, a regional heart center, and a wide range of preventive and acute care. Wilmington’s Nemours Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children is renowned for its pediatric care, providing advanced treatments for children from Delaware and beyond.

Saint Francis Healthcare in Wilmington and Bayhealth in Central and Southern Delaware are other significant contributors to the state’s healthcare infrastructure. These facilities offer a variety of services, from emergency care to specialized programs for heart health, cancer treatment, and women’s health.

Expanding Access to Healthcare Across the State

In addition to hospitals, Delaware boasts a network of federally qualified health centers (FQHCs) such as La Red Health Center and Westside Family Healthcare. These centers play a crucial role in expanding access to primary and preventive care, particularly for underserved populations.


Q: What types of healthcare facilities are available in Delaware?
A: Delaware offers a range of healthcare facilities including major hospitals, pediatric centers, community clinics, and federally qualified health centers.

Q: Are there specialized healthcare services in Delaware?
A: Yes, Delaware has specialized services such as a Level I trauma center, regional heart centers, and comprehensive pediatric care.


Level I Trauma Center: A healthcare facility equipped to provide the highest level of surgical care to trauma patients.
Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC): A community-based healthcare provider that receives funds from the HRSA Health Center Program to provide primary care services in underserved areas.
Preventive Care: Medical services that focus on disease prevention and health maintenance.