Wed. Oct 4th, 2023
    Danish Hydrogen Fuel Company Everfuel focuses on Heavy Transport, Closes Loss-Making Stations

    Everfuel, a Danish hydrogen fuel company, has announced its decision to close its “loss-making legacy” hydrogen refuelling stations used for cars and shift its focus to heavy transport. This decision comes after facing technological and operational challenges, including grounding its hydrogen trailer fleet and the closure of some stations. The company attributes these issues to the immature technology, project complexities, delayed third-party hydrogen sources, supply chain constraints, and cost inflation.

    The delayed roll-out of hydrogen vehicles and a limited pool of skilled personnel were also cited as contributing factors. Everfuel aims to ensure financial stability by closing the loss-making stations. Instead, the company will concentrate on developing a network for refuelling heavy-duty vehicles and invest in green hydrogen production. Everfuel believes that these areas are better supported by EU policies.

    Founded in 2019, Everfuel is actively working on building a European-wide hydrogen production and supply system for heavy-duty vehicles. The company has already established partnerships across various countries including Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Germany, the Netherlands, and Belgium. Everfuel CEO Jacob Krogsgaard expressed regret for the inconvenience caused to customers and employees but emphasized the need to stop subsidizing public hydrogen refuelling.

    Despite the station closures, Everfuel will honor its existing firm supply contracts. The company’s announcement follows the grounding of its hydrogen trailer fleet due to a malfunction and valve leak. The challenges experienced with the existing refuelling stations indicate the immaturity of hydrogen technology, according to Everfuel.

    As part of its future plans, Everfuel is developing refuelling stations that align with AFIR legislation. These stations are already under development in various locations across Denmark, Norway, Sweden, and Germany.

    Source: Joshua S. Hill